Patience Is A Virtue!

“But let patience have its perfect work, that ye may be prefect and entire, wanting nothing”…..James 1:4 (KJV)

June 22, 2008- I remember this day so vividly. I was determined to start my day in the presence of the Lord, making sure to give him thanks for allowing this day to come to pass, for protecting and guiding me and for blessing me with a supportive husband who had been more than willingly to be the sole provider while I attended graduate school. And also to ask that all my hard work not be in vain, but be beneficial to my family and my professional growth.  However, little did I know that the real test was just starting…………….

Patience is one thing that most of us struggle with whether it is dealing with our children, husband, co-workers, or waiting on what looks like a bad situation to change, etc. So often we hear that patience is a virtue which in translations means the ability to wait without getting angry or upset, to continue to wait without taking matters into our own hands, staying the course, trusting in God, no matter what the current situation looks like.

Patience helps to build our character it strengthens our faith and dependence on God. We become slow to anger, quick to listen, more understanding, our reaction time is slower because we are now consulting with God before making a rash or ratchet decision that in the end will only hurt us. So often we ask and pray for things without considering the full ramifications of the request.  Other skills may need to be sharpened, increases in other areas of your life may be required….God is looking at the BIG picture.

 When you come to realize that God is always working for your good, it makes the hard pill a lot easier to swallow when you get the rejection letter, when a door suddenly closes, when you are stuck in traffic, when you child spills milk all over the floor and now you have to clean it up, when things just don’t go the way you had hoped. Take a minute to rejoice and thank God when things don’t go your way, it is his way of protecting you and preparing you for something bigger and better.

Well….It has been almost six years  and I am still waiting, but I have grown in so many other areas.  Over the past 6 years I have experienced many stumbling blocks, but the most devastating was losing sight of God and my goals. I am finally back on track, the desires I once had have been renewed, I have refocused my energy on serving God and letting him lead the way.

Remember …God will not lead you down a path of failure and defeat, his timing is always perfect, his ways are bigger and better than yours. Give God control because he is the only one who can give you victory Let Patience Have Her Perfect Work ♥

Scriptures For Study and Meditation:

  • Psalm 40
  • Proverbs 14:29
  • Romans 8:25
  • Isaiah 45:5-7
  • Lamentations 3:19-24

For a good read and lesson on Patience- there is the story of Joseph who was sold into slavery by his brothers, sent to prison and eventually became the King of Egypt. ( Genesis 37-42). And also the story of  Sarah and Hagar- Sarah decided to take matters into her own hands, she became impatient.

GOD BLESS!

JH

 

 

Leave a comment